What is Green, White, Blue, Black and Red Belt and who will win it?

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The administrators of the ongoing International League T20 (ILT20), the top domestic T20 league in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), have introduced five sets of belts as a novel technique to recognize and motivate players for their efforts in key categories with each passing match.

Green Belt, White Belt, Black Belt, Red Belt, and Blue Belt are the five belts that have been introduced in the first edition of the tournament to encourage the players. The Green and White Belts will be passed from player to player as and when the cricketers top the rankings for the leading run-scorer and most wicket-taker, respectively, during the season, in an effort to keep the spectators talking and the players aiming higher.

The competition began on Friday after a magnificent opening ceremony at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, and while the players are getting to experience a number of new initiatives, like the use of fan-engaging Smart ball technology on the field, they are also receiving a special set of prizes.

What do the five Belts signify?

1.      Green Belt

The Green Belt will pass on from one cricketer to another, as and when a player surpasses the other to top the charts and become the leading run-getter of the tournament. The Green Belt will be passed on at the conclusion of every innings if there’s a change in the statistics.

2.      White Belt

Just like the Green Belt, the White Belt too will pass on from one bowler to another at the end of an innings. Whenever a bowler surpasses the other to become the leading run-getter of the tournament, he shall receive the White Belt.

3.      Black Belt

The Black Belt does not come into play at this stage of the tournament, since it is just the league stage going on. The prestigious Black Belt will be given to the owner of the team that wins the ILT20 tournament, that is the team that lifts the coveted cup in the finals of the inaugural ILT20. This Belt will be presented only during the tournament’s closing ceremony.

4.      Red Belt

The league’s most valuable player will also be honoured and bestowed with the spectacular Red Belt during the presentation ceremony at the end of the league in recognition of his consistently rewarding efforts throughout the tournament.

5.      Blue Belt

In the meantime, the 24 UAE players who were specially handpicked to play in the league will compete for the Blue Belt, which will be awarded to the best UAE player at the conclusion of the season.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store



Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *