Tamil Nadu become the first-ever team to surpass 500 runs in List-A cricket

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 fixture between Tamil Nadu and Arunachal Pradesh witnessed a plethora of records being registered. It was the promising batter Narayan Jagadeesan who got the limelight for his spectacular knock of 277 runs off only 141 balls.

However, apart from Jagadeesan’s individual excellence, Tamil Nadu also went on to register a unique feat in this contest as they have now officially become the very first team in the history of List-A cricket to surpass the 500-run mark.

Tamil Nadu break England’s record

As Tamil Nadu posted a mammoth total of 506/2 on the board from their stipulated 50 overs against Arunachal in the Elite Group C encounter of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022, they have now registered the all-time highest total in List A cricket. In fact, TN have also successfully overhauled England’s mammoth team total of 498/4 against the Netherlands earlier this year.

The previous best List-A record in India was held by Mumbai who had registered a total of 457/4 against Puducherry last year. Apart from these, a humungous 416-run opening stand between Narayan Jagadeesan and Sai Sudarshan was also an icing on the cake for Tamil Nadu. This is now the highest stand for any wicket in List-A cricket history.

The previous record was held by the Caribbean power-hitting duo of Chris Gayle, and, Marlon Samuels who had put on 372 runs for second wicket against Zimbabwe during a 2015 World Cup match. Meanwhile, Jagadeesan slammed his fifth consecutive century in the ongoing tournament and this epic 277-run knock happened to be his maiden double hundred as well.

The sensational batter had registered scores of 114*, 107, 168, and, 128 prior to this incredible innings. Thus, Narayan Jagadeesan has also surpassed iconic Sri Lankan wicketkeeper-batter Kumar Sangakkara’s unique individual batting record with this spectacular double ton.

Apart from Sangakkara, the likes of Alviro Peterson, and, Devdutt Padikkal are the only other batters to have scored four centuries in successive innings in 50-over cricket.

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.