Shardul Thakur traded from Delhi Capitals to Kolkata Knight Riders ahead of auction

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur has once again found a new team as the Delhi Capitals have decided to trade him to the Kolkata Knight Riders for the 2023 season. The trade was finalized on Monday, November 14 in an all-cash deal according to reports.

The ESPNcricinfo report further adds that Shardul’s former team Chennai Super Kings as well as the reigning IPL champions Gujarat Titans as well as the Punjab Kings expressed interest in buying him, but the Delhi franchise was not convinced with the deal.

Shardul Thakur gets his sixth IPL team

This will be the sixth IPL team that Shardul Thakur will be representing. The Palghar cricketer was previously a part of Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings), the now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiants, the four-time winners Chennai Super Kings, and the Delhi Capitals.

Thakur who was released by CSK during the IPL 2022 mega auction in February this year was roped in by the Delhi Capitals for a staggering INR 10.75 crore. Nonetheless, his performances were not upto the mark as he could only manage 15 scalps from all the 14 matches that he got to play in the season at an economy of 9.79. He also scored 120 runs at a strike rate of 138.

The bowling all-rounder has been selected in the Indian squad for the three-match ODI series against New Zealand. He would be hoping to make his performances do the talking as he aims to be on the selectors’ radar for the next year’s 50-over World Cup.

Meanwhile, this is the third player that the Kolkata Knight Riders have bought in the transfer window. The other two include New Zealand speedster Lockie Ferguson, and, Afghanistan wicketkeeper-batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz. These two players were transferred to KKR by the title-holders Gujarat Titans recently.

 Shardul Thakur brings in a lot of experience to the KKR squad and has also been an integral member of the  Chennai Super Kings’ two title triumphs in the 2018 and 2021 editions. 

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.