Ravichandran Ashwin gets furious by Hardik Pandya’s freak dismissal in 1st ODI


Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Veteran India spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was left fuming after witnessing Hardik Pandya’s bizarre mode of dismissal in the 1st ODI against New Zealand on Wednesday, January 18.

While Hardik Pandya was adjudged out by the third umpire it irked several eminent figures of the game. Ashwin and former India cricketer Wasim Jaffer argued that it should have been given not out as it was New Zealand captain Tom Latham’s glove that had brushed the bails and not the ball. 

Clearly Not Out: Ravichandran Ashwin drops reaction on Hardik Pandya’s dismissal

“Forget about split screens and replays, the cut shot from Shubhman Gill proved why Hardik was clearly Not Out. #indvsnz,” said the 36-year-old on the micro-blogging site Twitter.

After Pandya’s dismissal, there was an appeal for hit wicket against Shubman Gill. However, the replays suggested that the bails came off Latham’s gloves and Gill was adjudged not out by the third umpire. Taking cognizance of Latham’s on-field antics, Jaffer slammed the stand-in New Zealand skipper on Twitter. 

There was a huge uproar on Twitter with the third umpire being brought under scrutiny by fans and former cricketers. Even Jaffer didn’t seem too satisfied with the way Pandya was dismissed.

As far as the game is concerned, India opener Shubman slammed a sublime double century to shatter multiple records in the 1st ODI. The 23-year-old smashed a quick-fire 208 off 149 balls as the Rohit-led Team India posted a challenging total of 349-8 in the 50-over contest.

Gill, who became the fifth Indian batter to smash a double century, struck 19 fours and fired 9 sixes in his entertaining knock of 208 against the Black Caps.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store





Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *