PBKS Retained and Released Players List with Purse Remaining

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The trading window of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 officially concluded on November 15 at 5 PM. Franchises were made to submit their final list of retained players ahead of the mini-auction scheduled to take place on December 23 in Kochi.

It was all over for Mayank Agarwal with the side as the Kings decided to move ahead without him for the upcoming season. Shikhar Dhawan is set to lead the side as he takes over the captaincy role from Mayank, who led the sidein the last edition. The association between the two came to a conclusion after the right hander’s poor outings with the franchise in the previous edition. Under Mayank’s captaincy, the Punjab Kings finished sixth in IPL 2022, despite possessing a strong team.

Moreover, West Indies all-rounder Odean Smith, Prerak Mankad, Writtick Chatterjee and Ishan Porel are in the list of players released by the side ahead of the auction. With the removal of big names such as that of Smith and Agarwal from the squad, PBKS will have INR 20 crore freed up.

Star players Jonny Bairstow and Shahrukh Khan were retained by the side, both of whom were expected to remain for the next season. The side now has three overseas slots remaining, which essentially translates to them making full use of the forthcoming auction scheduled to be held in a month’s time. 

The Kings now have a lot to look forward to when they get into the auction as they still have INR 32.2 crore in their purse. The side would look to make the best use of it and have an edge over the rival sides ahead of the new season.

Punjab Kings Retained Players List

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shahrukh Khan, Jonny Bairstow, Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Liam Livingstone, Atharva Taide, Arshdeep Singh, Baltej Singh, Nathan Ellis, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar

Punjab Kings Released Players List

Mayank Agarwal, Odean Smith, Vaibhav Arora, Benny Howell, Ishan Porel, Ansh Patel, Prerak Mankad, Sandeep Sharma, Writtick Chatterjee

Punjab Kings Purse Remaining

INR 32.2 Crore

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.