MI Retained and Released Players List with Purse Remaining

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history in terms of achievements and have a record five titles to their name. However, things have not gone their way in the last couple of seasons with the 2022 edition being the most forgettable one where MI finished at the rock bottom.

They would be hoping to revamp their squad by all possible means and have made some important retentions and releases ahead of the high-octane IPL 2023 auction that is scheduled to be held in Kochi on December 23. 

Mumbai Indians retain their core players, Kieron Pollard retires

However, ahead of the final list, Caribbean all-rounder and one of the finest servants of the Mumbai Indians Kieron Pollard announced his retirement from IPL immediately. He would now be serving the franchise as the batting coach.

Therefore, Pollard’s position as a player which is now vacant needs to be filled up and it now remains to be seen whom Mumbai Indians will be appointing. But, the former champions have retained the core members ahead of the IPL auction including the likes of skipper Rohit Sharma, pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah, and middle-order sensation Suryakumar Yadav. 

Ishan Kishan, who was also the costliest buy last season, roped in at a staggering INR 15.25 crore, has also been retained despite being completely off-color during crucial phases in 2022. 

Ishan scored 418 runs in the 14 matches that he played averaging 32.15 and a strike rate of 120.11 including three half-centuries with his highest individual score being 81*. Apart from the above players, Tilak Varma has also been retained. 

MI released players

Kieron Pollard (retired), Anmolpreet Singh, Aryan Juyal, Basil Thampi, Daniel Sams, Fabian Allen, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Rahul Buddhi, Riley Meredith, Sanjay Yadav, Tymal Mills

MI retained players

Rohit Sharma (c), Tim David, Ramandeep Singh, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, Arjun Tendulkar, Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jason Behrendorff, Akash Madhwal

Purse Remaining –  20.55 CR

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.