Mark Waugh set to join commentary panel as Michael Clarke’s replacement for Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Following Michael Clarke’s controversial departure from the commentary panel for the impending Border-Gavaskar Trophy, former Australian cricketer Mark Waugh will join Matthew Hayden as Australian commentator for the first two Tests of the series in Nagpur and Delhi.

Former Australian skipper Michael Clarke was dumped by the BCCI after his video of his altercation with girlfriend Jade Yarbrough took social media by storm during their holiday in Noosa, Queensland. His contract with the BCCI was terminated after his furore as he was rumored to reconcile with ex-girlfriend Pip Edwards during his visit to the subcontinent.

Mark Waugh will replace Mitchell Johnson for the third and fourth Test as the latter will be seen taking up commentary duties in the ODI series that follows the red-ball assignments. Reportedly, Johnson will be joined by fellow Aussie and recently retired ODI skipper Aaron Finch during the 50-over series, who is currently skippering the Melbourne Renegades in the BBL.

Apart from the aforementioned names, several high-profile ex-Aussie cricketers like Ricky Ponting, Mike Hussey, Simon Katich, Brad Haddin, and Trevor Bayliss were also on the radar of the BCCI, but their commitments to IPL franchises for the upcoming season ruled them out of contention for the commentary stint.

PSL approached Michael Clarke for a broadcasting role for the upcoming edition

Meanwhile, the 2015 World Cup-winning skipper has been offered a commentary gig for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Clarke revealed the interest from India’s arch-rivals on his radio show. The PSL will run concurrently with Australia’s tour of India, which concludes on March 22. 

“I have just been asked to commentate on the PSL, the Pakistan Premier League, and you should see the internationals they have got,” Clarke said as quoted by reports.

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *