Get every cricket updates! Follow us on
In the first ODI between India and New Zealand at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, keeper-batter Ishan Kishan tried to deceive the onfield umpires – for which he could have been handed a suspension of anything between 4 to 12 matches.
The Patna-born cricketer deliberately knocked off the bail with his gloves and later appealed to the leg umpire to believe that the Kiwi skipper Tom Latham had stepped foot on his own stumps. However, replays revealed Kishan’s mistake and the case was immediately dismissed.
Notably, under ICC’s Code of Conduct, the 24-year-old could have been charged with a Level 3 offence of ‘attempt to gain an unfair advantage in the match.’ However, no action was taken, as the on-field umpires Anil Chaudhary and Nitin Menon didn’t register a complaint about the same. In the meantime, match referee Javagal Srinath spoke to the youngster about this incident and it is reported that he also had a word with Indian captain Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid about the same.
Later on, Srinath also spoke with the Kiwi coach Luke Ronchi and with the New Zealand team management about Kishan’s behaviour. However, the touring team officials didn’t register a complaint either and the matter got dissolved.
The match also saw another controversy when all-rounder Hardik Pandya was given out despite replays showing otherwise. The bail had been accidentally tipped off by Latham’s gloves as he stood up to the stumps but TV umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan didn’t consider that as he was adjudged as out.
However, the Men in Blue eventually won the first ODI by 12 runs after batting masterclass from opener Shubman Gill. They also defeated New Zealand by eight wickets in the second ODI at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur. The final match of the series is scheduled to take place in Indore (Holkar Stadium) on Tuesday, January 24.
For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store