India name 17-member squad for first two Australia Tests; Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav included

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 17-member squad for the upcoming Test series against Australia on Friday (January 13). Rohit Sharma returns to captain the side after missing the last Test series against Bangladesh due to a thumb injury. India host Australia in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy starting on February 9 in Nagpur followed by three-match ODI series.

In a major change, young wicketkeeper batter Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav are included in India’s red-ball team for the first time as Rishabh Pant remains unavailable due to his recent horrific accident.

The star pacer Jasprit Bumrah is missing the squad as he continues to struggle to recover from a back stress. Jaydev Unadkat, who returned to the Indian setup after ten years during India’s tour of Bangladesh, has kept his place in the squad with Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Umesh Yadav being other pace options for the first two Tests.

Ravindra Jadeja is also added in the squad but his inclusion subject to fitness. He last played Test cricket in August 2022 and has struggled with a knee injury occurred during the 2022 Asia Cup tournament in UAE. Ravichandran Ashwin will be India’s prime spin option in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav keeping their place in the squad.

India’s squad for first two Tests vs Australia:

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store

Source link

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *